Luckley School, founded in 1918, has always occupied its present site.
The Main House, which dates from 1907, replaced Luckley Manor, an ancient property mentioned in the Domesday Book. Oakfield School was established in the Lake District in 1895. The two schools were amalgamated on the Wokingham site in 1959, as an independent educational trust regulated by the Charity Commissioners, and continued as Luckley-Oakfield School until 31 August 2013.
In September 2013
The School changed its name to Luckley House School in 2013. The Governors felt that neither the name nor the crest any longer truly represented the modern, forward-thinking school that now exists. The new name, whilst retaining the heritage of the school’s stunning Main House building, known as ‘Luckley House’ in the early 1900s, also signifies the ‘family community’ that the School provides. Further, a new contemporary logo was designed to reflect the strong Christian ethos of the School, with the use of a symbolic ‘cross’ within the letter ‘Y’.
In September 2015
The Governors announced the decision in 2014 to move to coeducation from September 2015. They believed that this allowed Luckley House to take best advantage of the opportunities in modern education. The School has gone from strength to strength since moving to coeducation and is now almost at full capacity with 50% boys.
(Pictured here are the Pioneer Boys in 2015)
THE HISTORY OF LUCKLEY SCHOOL MAIN HOUSE
This document is a detailed account of the history of Luckley School Main House, based on research by Mr Tim South, Father of three Luckleyans The History of Luckley School Main House